PDA

View Full Version : Question on exhaust systems

BS7656
08-01-2005, 06:17 PM
I am a newby to the lightning scene and to the american made scene as well. I have heard pros and cons about both masterflow and basani and i would like to know what is the best one over all. And sorry if I mispelled anything, not the greatest speller.

BS7656
08-01-2005, 06:18 PM
its for a 2002 L

WA 2 FST
08-01-2005, 06:25 PM
I had a Borla cat-back on my '99 and I have a Magnaflow on my '04. I prefer the Magnaflow. I have no first-hand experience with the Bassani. All of these systems are stainless steel, so they should last longer than you'll own the truck.

Realize that any cat-back system like this will not net you any significant power gains without other mods as well. They are more just for an improvement in exhaust sound over stock (read: more aggressive).

I found that both the Borla and Magnaflow are nice under full throttle, but not obnoxious at idle/part throttle cruising. The Borla was a bit quiet for me at WOT for my tastes.

BS7656
08-01-2005, 06:40 PM
thanks for the info. I just want the best sound that i can get. that deep sound but not obnoxious. oh and if anyone ever goes to the kennedale races on anyday please stop by im on the way there right off of new hope road right infront of the church of christ

BigBobsL
08-01-2005, 07:02 PM
I had a Borla cat-back on my '99 and I have a Magnaflow on my '04. I prefer the Magnaflow. I have no first-hand experience with the Bassani. All of these systems are stainless steel, so they should last longer than you'll own the truck.

Realize that any cat-back system like this will not net you any significant power gains without other mods as well. They are more just for an improvement in exhaust sound over stock (read: more aggressive).

I found that both the Borla and Magnaflow are nice under full throttle, but not obnoxious at idle/part throttle cruising. The Borla was a bit quiet for me at WOT for my tastes.