PDA

View Full Version : Complaints about 10% Ethanol

Beaudee
05-22-2006, 09:46 AM
Anyone been trying the ethanol gas yet.I filled up my work car today and noticed for the 1st time all pumps said may contain 10% ethanol.Saw on the news that several people been having water in the gas problems.The alcohol lets the water mix with the gas instead of settling @ the bottom of the tank like the old gas.I think the stations should be required to have water seperators installed.Anyway,was just wondering if anyone here has been using the ethanol and noticed anything different.

WA 2 FST
05-22-2006, 10:50 AM
Here in Collin County, every pump I've seen has the "may contain 10% ethanol" sticker. So I've been using it for almost 2 months now. No issues, except I have seen a 5-10% drop in fuel mileage. All my vehicles are running fine, though.

keynan
05-22-2006, 06:08 PM
The ethanol will lower the mphI think because it burns faster. The ethanol purges the water, dust basically cleans the tanks.Gas stations are requried to instal ethanol fuel filters, and are also supposed to change the filters out every month or so.

SILVER2000SVT
05-22-2006, 06:20 PM
I would just be happy if I could find a gas station that isn't out. I stopped at three different gas stations this evening where each were missing at least 2 grades of gas. What's going on around here?

keynan
05-22-2006, 07:24 PM
I'm not real sure there is a murphy usa that has prem at $2.87 or so. it's off of 820 and clifford st.

Silver_2000
05-22-2006, 07:59 PM
go 70 miles south of dallas and you can save ~40 cents a gallon on gas ..

Bought Premium for 2.79

WA 2 FST
05-22-2006, 08:05 PM
Have you worked the math on that to see if its worth it, Doug? ;)

Stuck up here in the NE suburbs, its expensive no matter where I shop.

wesman
05-22-2006, 08:19 PM