PDA

View Full Version : Found the Problem...blown (melted) fuse

tliss
03-02-2009, 05:31 PM
I finally got under the hood of the truck today to try to figure out why it was overheating on me. Terry gets the prize...the e-fan was not pulling air due to a melted fuse. The inline fuse blew and basically melted. I pulled it out and one of the connectors stayed behind, so I am going to have to replace the fuse and the power cord. I think I have a spare wiring harness, but I'll have to locate it. If not, any suggestions on the best replacement gauge and fuse size? Considering what happened to this 30amp fuse, I'd like to get something with a little more safety.

Check out the pics of the remnants of the fuse.

http://www.svtgalleries.net/gallery/data/500/medium/100_5508.JPG
http://www.svtgalleries.net/gallery/data/500/medium/100_5509.JPG

The melted connector is the one inbound from the fuse box.

T

dboat
03-03-2009, 09:15 AM
Tom, I am no master mechanic, nor a mechanic, but it looks to me like your current setup did what it was supposed to do. It hasnt been an issue where it does this over and over all the time, so I would go back with what was there before..

Dana

toddwarren
03-03-2009, 09:36 AM
No surprise Terry made the right call! Good luck with the repair.

L8 APEX
03-03-2009, 06:32 PM
The fan motor may have died or you have a direct short to cause that catastrophic failure. Is it the battery side or the fan side of the fuse? Should be battery side.

tliss
03-03-2009, 09:11 PM
The fan motor may have died or you have a direct short to cause that catastrophic failure. Is it the battery side or the fan side of the fuse? Should be battery side.

Battery side of the fuse melted. Hopefully the damn fan motor didn't die...paid way to much for that damn fan for it to crap out on me like that!