PDA

View Full Version : Battery Tender Question

ZeusSVT
01-10-2010, 05:43 PM
Since I don't drive the truck too much I have started to notice the battery getting pretty weak on start up after a week or so. Now with this brutal cold weather it has gotten much worse. I read a little online and found that this one had good reviews, but I have no experience with them, so wanted to know some opinions on this, or recommendations on another one that is out there.

Thanks. :beer:

http://www.amazon.com/Battery-Tender-021-0128-Plus-Charger/dp/B00068XCQU/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

Silver_2000
01-10-2010, 07:37 PM
start by checking the fluid level in your battery

L8 APEX
01-10-2010, 07:55 PM
I think that one works. Donnie bought a 4 bank tender from them last year. It keeps his vette, boat, atv and riding mower charged up while they set for 1-6 months at a time. He bought 4 25ft extensions to the charging cord side and 4 extra quick connects for the battery side. I have a fancy one I think it is called a CTEK 3300.
http://www.amazon.com/CTEK-Multi-Smart-Battery-Charger/dp/B000FQBWCY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=automotive&qid=1263171228&sr=1-1

PUMP
01-10-2010, 10:28 PM
For what it's worth, a lot of members of the Corvette Forum recommend the CTEK. By the same token, many of them do not seem to know the difference between a starting battery and a deep cycle battery. Go figure.

L8 APEX
01-10-2010, 10:46 PM
They just buy the most expensive tender they can find.

The important thing is to get a setup with quick connect that is easy to use and will break away in case you forget and drive off with it plugged in. You should mount the pigtail on the truck so you can connect it easily without having to open the hood.