PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Pump Issue

SVTLght99
02-02-2013, 01:35 PM
Hello guys,

Since last week ive been dealing with a problem with my dad L but have since fixed it. Now my 99L is having problems. L was working fine until I got off work and started her right up. Now im no mechanic but can solve minor issues. But the issues i had with it were....hesitating badly to a point where it would die and start right back up but would be gasping for air. I would floor it but no pwer whats so ever and it would die. It starts back up but starts hesitating badly again and die. I was able to drive it home but at a speed going under 40mph. My 99L is basically stock.

So what i did was buy a whole new set of 8 coil packs and stock plugs. I changed them out along with a new fuel filter. Still the problem exists. My brother has a red 99L which his too is also stock. I thought it would be the MAF, TPS, and IAC so I switched his out with mine, connected my battery again, and still the problem exists. So it cant be either of those either. I finally got fed up with it and took it to a mechanic. He told me it was the fuel pump. Now my question is, where can I purchase both the pumps? Or do you guys think I could look elsewhere to find the problem? I really need to get my truck running. I really want to keep my truck stock without having to replace the pumps with aftermarket ones and having me to go with a bigger MAF and fuel injectors. I really dont have money for all that. Nor do I race. Any suggestions? Oh and the truck isnt throwing out any codes for me to check.

SVTLght99
02-02-2013, 01:49 PM
Hello guys,