PDA

View Full Version : Need some info

OkieHog
02-08-2004, 07:33 AM
I am looking at a 95-L. It is a very low miles truck (CarFax even says so). However, it has some issues, and I need some input from you Lightning freaks that really know your stuff. (Hope I am in the right forum with this, if not please let me know.)
This truck once had an aftermarket SC. MSD 6 was also added, along with different ECC (whatever the heck that is! I am NOT a mechanic!!).
It now has quad shocks on the rear. Seems I heard that was factory. True? False? It also has the really longer studs on the rear wheels, so, it was clearly used for dragging at one time.
Troubles: I hired a guy to inspect this truck for me. He says it looks new and smells new inside and out. However, he says when you try to accelerate, it backfires through the intake, badly. He says his Taurus wagon would out run this truck!!! He says it is a DOG! AARGH!! :hammer: (And yes, I do trust this inspector. I don't think he is trying to get the truck himself. Real nice guy with good reputation.)
Second, all, and I mean all, with the exception of the compressor, of the underhood A/C components have been removed. :confused: Compressor is wide open, no plugs, so it is shot too. Now, I could replace that stuff, but is expensive of course. It has a huge aftermarket aluminum radiator on it, with twin fans.
So, what I am asking is, what does the misfiring/backfiring sound like to you guys? Serious? Don't worry about it? What?
The truck has less than 50K actual on it. Let's say it was campaigned a good bit, how strong are these motors, so that, if it was raced for a couple of hard seasons? Guy that inspected it says it sounds strong. Could there be a cam problem with the backfiring, though? He says it does idle well, by the way.
I need some professional input. I really would like this truck even if I need to do a bit of work to get it running strong again. But, I don't want to buy into a "money pit" just because it is low miles.