PDA

View Full Version : Swanson Mod a Possible bad idea?

03LightningRocks
02-23-2004, 01:40 AM
I had a little mishap at the track this weekend....thanks to a dime stuck in the PCV system:eek2: . I wonder how the heck that got in there????

Seriously though...after running my first pass at Hallsville, I noticed the pcv on the passenger side was out of it's hole. I wonder how the heck that happened and stick it back in. After the next pass, it is out again. This time oil is fricking dripping all over the valve cover.

I pulled the dime out and put all the parts back in the proper places. I make the next pass and this time the pcv stayed in place.

Now I am not a rocket engineer, but I am thinking that the Swanson mod may not be a great idea when making big boost. It never did it when I was hitting 15lbs. I am at 18lbs now and no longer have a dime stuck in the pcv system.

Rocks:tu:

03'svtlight
02-23-2004, 09:13 AM
Your crankcase pressure prolley flew to the ceiling. Had to vent somewhere. I'm afraid to do the dime mod. Might create blow-by. :nono:

f150freak
02-23-2004, 02:09 PM
Not to sound like a dumb a$$ but isnt that why you use a crankcase breather filter with the dime mod? or did your PCV valve pop out even with the breather filter? I'm running the dime mod with a breather filter and I havent had a single problem yet.

Band
02-23-2004, 02:41 PM
Not to sound like a dumb a$$ but isnt that why you use a crankcase breather filter with the dime mod? or did your PCV valve pop out even with the breather filter? I'm running the dime mod with a breather filter and I havent had a single problem yet.

I have no idea what you guys are talking about... But Ron does have the oil breather cap...

03LightningRocks
02-23-2004, 03:06 PM
I have no idea what you guys are talking about... But Ron does have the oil breather cap...

We are talking about a mod that is suppose to help keep oil out of the back of our intake plenum and off the intercooler coil.