PDA

View Full Version : Integra Broke

Lyfisin
01-03-2005, 06:50 PM
I know this is off topic, but I need resources and more people probably read here than the Off-Topic forum.

We have a 96 Integra and the engine just pretty much blew. There's about a 2x3 inch hole in the block. We bought it used about 6 months ago with about 103k miles on it. No idea whether what happened was caused by previous owners or my kid.

We're not exactly from this area and other than Terry, I know zero mechanics. I am not a mechanic myself so doing something like an engine change is out of the question for me. I can't see trying to find a used engine. The same thing could likely happen and we could end up wasting money on doing something like that.

So what are my options? Take it to Acura and have a new engine put in?
Cut my losses and try and sell the car with no engine?
Anyone know some fair and reliable mechanics in North Dallas who work on Acuras who might have some insight?

Looking for any and all help here.

Doug, if you need to move the thread, I understand.

Brook

Silver_2000
01-03-2005, 06:55 PM
A friend raced NSX's for a while - He knows LOTS of folks in the Acura world

I sent him an email and asked

Doug

dboat
01-03-2005, 06:58 PM
I am thinking a used engine swap would probably be your best bet.. That should be pretty easy to arrange.. How much it would cost is another matter though...

Good Luck

Dana

99WhiteBeast
01-03-2005, 07:11 PM
There is a great place in Lewisville that works on Honda's and Acura's. They did several things on my Honda "tool car" when I had it and I was very pleased.

I would stay away from a dealer as it will be twice as much. Replace the engine- sounds like you may only need a block so all or most of the other stuff should be reusable.
http://www.thehondadoctor.com/

PoorSvtman
01-03-2005, 07:51 PM
You can go with a bigger and better motor swap for that integra for way less than it would be to take it to the dealer.